About AARP New Mexico, Contacts

Posted on 07/23/2013 by | AARP New Mexico | Comments

AARP New Mexico is working right here in our state to help individuals reach their full potential no matter their age. For some people, reaching age 50 isn’t about slowing down. It’s about “Real Possibilities” and shaping their future into their best life ever.

AARP’s presence in New Mexico is just about that. We work in local communities to make sure senior services are adequately funded. Our staff and volunteers watch utility companies to ensure that any requests for an increase in rates are reasonable and not detrimental to seniors and low-income individuals. We work to ensure that public transportation services — vital tools in keeping seniors who no longer drive connected and engaged in their community — are accessible, especially in rural areas. And we provide resources to help with financial planning whether an individual is still working or moving toward retirement.

AARP New Mexico also visits communities across the state conducting events and forums on topics important to you and your family such as strengthening Medicare and Social Security for the future and what the Affordable Health Care Act will mean to individuals.

We make available access to products, services and discounts and fight for consumer protections so people can save real money for themselves and their families— and turn their dream of a better future into a “real possibility.”

The AARP New Mexico State Office is located in historic Santa Fe, just a  few blocks from the State Capitol, at 535 Cerrillos Road Ste A, Santa Fe, NM 87501. Our toll-free number is 1-866-389-5636. The State Office can also be e-mailed at AARPNM@aarp.org

AARP staff members:

     Gene Varela, State Director – 505-946-3604 or evarela@aarp.org 

     Juniper Looker, State Operations Associate – 505-946-3602 or jlooker@aarp.org 

     Michael Donnelly, Associate State Director for Advocacy – 505-946-3603 or mdonnelly@aarp.org

     Beth Velasquez, Associate State Director for Communications – 505-946-3605 or bvelasquez@aarp.org 

     Shanna Lapsley, Associate State Director for Multicultural Outreach – 505-603-6101 or slapsley@aarp.org (Shanna works primarily out of the Albuquerque metro area) 

     Gary Williams, Associate State Director for Community Outreach – 505-946-3601 or gdwilliams@aarp.org 

The state office also includes an advisory board made up of volunteers and the state director called the Executive Council. It is chaired by AARP New Mexico State President Jackie Cooper. She can be reached at 505-358-8398 or jmcooper@aarp.org

0 comments