AARP is encouraging San Antonians to learn about the candidates and vote in the mayoral and City Council elections on Saturday, May 4.

The mayoral candidates are incumbent Ron Nirenberg, Tim Atwood, Greg Brockhouse, Carlos Castanuela, Bert Cecconi, Antonio “Tony” Diaz, Michael “Commander” Idrogo, Matt Piña and John Velasquez.

There are 50 candidates running for 10 seats on the City Council, all of which are up for election. Both the mayoral and council elections will be nonpartisan primaries. If no candidate wins more than 50 percent, the top two in each race will advance to a runoff on Friday, June 8.

“Given the last local election results, San Antonians 50-plus have decidedly voted the mayor and City Council into office,” said Lisa Ann Rodriguez, advocacy and outreach director for AARP in San Antonio. “It’s imperative for the candidates to understand what issues are most important to this voting bloc.

“AARP wants to ensure that San Antonians have information that will help them make informed decisions at the polls,” she added.

Critical concerns in this election are affordable housing, transportation and quality of life in the city. For more details on the candidates and voter resources, go to

—Laura Tillman