AARP AARP States Missouri Volunteering

AARP Missouri Is Now Accepting Nominations for the 2019 Andrus Award

Loretta 2018
2018 Andrus Award Recipient Loretta Davis

Do you know a volunteer, over the age of 50, who’s made a significant impact on your community? Now’s your chance to get them recognized – nominate that volunteer superstar for AARP’s most prestigious community service award.

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service, named after AARP’s founder Ethel Percy Andrus, aims to shine a light on outstanding local volunteers who donate their skills, time and love to their communities.

AARP Missouri will be accepting nominations until July 15, 2019, and the recipient will receive the opportunity to donate $1,500 to an eligible non-profit of his or her choosing.

Who’s eligible?

AARP Missouri Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.
  • Married couples or domestic partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
  • The recipient must live in the awarding state.
  • This is not a posthumous award.

How do I nominate someone?

Online nomination forms are available HERE or you can call AARP Missouri at (866) 389-5627 to request a paper nomination form be mailed to you.

Nominations will be evaluated based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers.

For more information about the 2019 Andrus Award for Community Service click here.

About AARP Missouri
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.