AARP AARP States Michigan Livable Communities

Grand Rapids: What makes an age-friendly community?

Grand Rapids Age Friendly logo



The City of Grand Rapids is building a master plan to become a Livable Community through AARP’s Network of Age Friendly Communities.

This fall, AARP Michigan and the City of Grand Rapids are hosting “Community Conversations” to find out what you’d like to see in your neighborhood to make it age friendly for people of ALL ages. Several of these events were held earlier this month.

Please join us for any of these remaining Community Conversations:

Garfield Park Community Gym, 2111 Madison Ave SE, Tuesday, 9/19/17, 10-11:30 a.m.

Disability Advocates of Kent County, 3600 Camelot Dr SE, Tuesday, 9/19/17 3-4:30 p.m.

Mt. Mercy Apartments, 1425 Bridge St NW, Thursday, 9/21/17, 1-2:30 p.m.

Westminster Presbyterian Church, 47 Jefferson Ave SE, Thursday, 9/21/17, 5:30-7:30 p.m.

Grand Rapids International Fellowship, 3765 Kalamazoo Ave SE, Tuesday, 9/26/17, 10 a.m. -12 p.m.

St Alphonsus Church, 224 Carrier St NE, Wednesday, 9/27/17, 1-2:30 p.m.

Adams Park Apartments, 1440 Fuller Ave SE, Thursday, 9/28/17, 2-4 p.m.

St. Anthony of Padua, 2510 Richmond St NW, Tuesday, 10/03/17, 2-4 p.m.

Garfield Park Lodge, 334 Burton St SE, Saturday, 10/07/17 1-2:30, p.m.

Roc Community Room, 601 First St NW, Monday, 10/09/17, 2-4 p.m.

Leonard Terrace Apartments, 1315 Leonard St NE, Wednesday, 10/11/17, 1:30-3 p.m.

United Methodist Community House, 904 Sheldon Ave SE, Monday, 10/23/17, 10-11:30 a.m.

 

 

Welcome to AARP Michigan
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.