Content starts here
AARP AARP States Nebraska Volunteering

AARP Nebraska Seeks Nominees for the 2024 Andrus Award for Community Service

AARP Nebraska's 2023 Andrus Award for Community Service Winner, Jerry Marlatt of Kearney, Nebraska
AARP Nebraska

AARP Nebraska is now accepting nominations for its 2024 Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors a Nebraskan age 50-plus who shares their experience, talent, and skills to enrich their community.

“AARP Nebraska is excited to shine a light on a community volunteer who is using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in the lives around them,” said Todd Stubbendieck, State Director for AARP Nebraska.

Nominations will be evaluated by AARP Nebraska's selection committee based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s mission and vision, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in early fall 2024 and be presented with a $2500 check to be donated to a charity of their choice.

AARP Nebraska Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years of age or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay. Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose, as well as be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer.
  • Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or service may not be considered.
  • Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
  • Previous Andrus Award recipients are not eligible.
  • Volunteers serving on the Andrus Award selection committee are not eligible.
  • AARP staff members are not eligible.
  • This is not a posthumous award.

The application deadline is July 15, 2024. The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized outstanding individuals in nearly every state.

Submit a Nebraska Andrus Award Nomination

About AARP Nebraska
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.