Content starts here
AARP AARP States Hawaii

AARP Hawai`i Seeks 2024 Andrus Award Nominees

AARP is now accepting nominations for its 2024 Hawai`i Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors Hawai`i volunteers, 50 and older, who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.

The deadline to nominate an outstanding individual for AARP’s most prestigious volunteer award is September 1, 2024. AARP Hawai`i will donate $1,000 to the charity of the winner’s choice in their name.

“AARP Hawai`i is excited to shine a light on older Hawai`i residents who are using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in the lives around them,” said Keali`i Lopez, AARP Hawai`i State Director.

Nominations will be evaluated by the AARP Hawai`i state office based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced at AARP Hawai`i’s annual Volunteer Recognition Lunch.

AARP (State) Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

· Nominee must be 50 years or older.
· The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay. Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible.
· The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose.
· The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer.
· Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or service may not be considered.
· Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
· Previous Andrus Award recipients are not eligible.
· Volunteers serving on the Andrus Award selection committee are not eligible.
· AARP staff members are not eligible.
· This is not a posthumous award.

Go to for further information and a nomination form or contact AARP Hawai`i Outreach Director Jackie Boland at 808-545-6003 or email her at

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. It’s named after AARP’s founder Ethel Percy Andrus, who once said: “It is only in the giving of oneself to others that we truly live.”

Last year, AARP recognized 49 outstanding individuals and couples from around the country. The Hawai`i winner was Dotty Kelly Paddock, the president of Hui O’ Hau`ula and the Hau`ula Community Association.

About AARP Hawaii
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.