AARP AARP States Hawaii

Deadline Extended for AARP Hawai`i Andrus Award

Nominate an outstanding Hawai`i volunteer 50 or older for the 2021 Andrus Award for Community Service by the extended deadline of Aug. 16. The Andrus Award is AARP Hawai`i’s highest honor and recognizes an individual or couple who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members. 

“We know that older Hawai`i residents are generous with their time and experience and are using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in their communities. The Andrus Award recognizes outstanding volunteers and also comes with a $500 donation to the charity of their choice,” said Keali`i Lopez, AARP Hawai`i State Director.

Nominations will be evaluated based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in early fall. More information and application forms are available at

The nominees do not have to be AARP members or volunteers. Past winners include Waikele residents Paul and Joy Nishimura, AARP Hawai`i’s volunteer community service team, Kauai attorney and kupuna advocate J. Michael Ratcliffe, and Bill and Lena Staton, of Maui, for their service to Hawai‘i veterans and the community.

AARP Hawai`i Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.  Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer.
  • Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
  • This is not a posthumous award.

The application deadline is now August 16, 2021.

AARP’s vision is a society in which everyone ages with dignity and purpose and in which AARP helps people fulfill their goals and dreams and our purpose is to empower people to choose how they live as they age.

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society.  The award is named after AARP’s founder Ethel Percy Andrus. Last year, AARP recognized 50 outstanding individuals and couples from around the country.

About AARP Hawaii
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.