Content starts here
AARP AARP States New Mexico

AARP New Mexico Seeks 2023 Andrus Award Nominations

AARP New Mexico is now accepting nominations for its 2023 AARP New Mexico Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors 50+ New Mexicans who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members. 

“New Mexico has many volunteers who choose to share their talents and experience in different ways in order to make their community and our state a better place,” said AARP New Mexico State Director Joseph Sanchez. “We are fortunate at AARP to work with some of those individuals on a daily basis and would not be successful without them.”

Happy volunteers volunteering at food and clothing drive
Hero Images Inc/Getty Images

“The Andrus Award for Community Service honors a volunteer or volunteer couple who have gone above and beyond everyday volunteering and really make a powerful impact on their community. It is our most prestigious volunteer award and as a result even being nominated is an honor, so we also recognize our nominees as well,” Sanchez said.

Nominees can volunteer for any organization as long as they are not paid for their work.

Nominations will be evaluated by a selection committee and based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in late fall. 

AARP New Mexico Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements: 

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older. 
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay. Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible. 
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose. 
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer. 
  • Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or service may not be considered. 
  • Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible. 
  • Previous Andrus Award recipients are not eligible. 
  • Volunteers serving on the Andrus Award selection committee are not eligible. 
  • AARP staff members are not eligible. 
  • This is not a posthumous award. 

Please contact Shanna Lapsley, AARP New Mexico Associate State Director of Community Outreach, at for more information. The application deadline is July 31. 

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized 49 outstanding individuals and couples from around the country. 

About AARP New Mexico
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.