AARP AARP States New Mexico

AARP New Mexico Seeks Nominations for 2022 Andrus Award for Community Service

AARP New Mexico seeks nominations for its 2022 state Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors 50 plus New Mexicans who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.

Jackie -- edited.jpg
Andrus Award Winner and AARP Volunteer Jackie Cooper visits with people

“AARP New Mexico is excited to highlight and honor individuals who are using what they have learned in life to make a difference in their communities,” said Joseph P. Sanchez, AARP New Mexico State Director.

“Most of the work AARP does in New Mexico is done by volunteers. Without them, we would not be nearly as successful as we are or be able to reach as many people across our state. We know that volunteers similarly are an asset to many other organizations as well,” Sanchez said.

“The Andrus Award is an opportunity to recognize people that have gone beyond everyday occurrences of volunteering and have made a significant impact on others,” he said

Nominations will be evaluated by a committee of people both inside and outside of AARP and based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in late fall.

AARP New Mexico Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay. Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based  must be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer.
  • Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or service may not be considered.
  • Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
  • Previous Andrus Award recipients are not eligible.
  • Volunteers serving on the Andrus Award selection committee are not eligible.
  • AARP staff members are not eligible.
  • This is not a posthumous award.

Please contact Shanna Lapsley, Associate State Director for Community Outreach, at for further information and a nomination form. Nominations can also be submitted online at online nomination form​ .
The application deadline is July 31, 2022.The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized 49 outstanding individuals and couples from around the country.

About AARP New Mexico
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.