AARP AARP States Kansas

AARP Kansas Seeks Nominations for Andrus Award for Community Service - Deadline Extended to August 1, 2022

Hepp, Joy M

Annual Award Recognizes Those Who Make a Powerful Difference in their Community

(Topeka, Kansas) -- AARP Kansas is now accepting nominations for its 2022 Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors 50+ Kansans who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of people in their community. The award is named after AARP founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus.

“AARP Kansas is excited to shine a light on Kansans who are age 50 and older who are using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in the lives of those around them,” said Judy Bellome, Volunteer State President for AARP Kansas and previous Andrus Award recipient.

Nominations will be evaluated by a team of AARP Kansas staff and volunteers based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in early fall.

AARP Kansas Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

• Nominee must be 50 years or older.

• The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay. Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible.

• The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose.

• The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer.

• Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or service may not be considered.

• Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.

• Previous Andrus Award recipients are not eligible.

• Volunteers serving on the Andrus Award selection committee are not eligible.

• AARP staff members are not eligible.

• This is not a posthumous award.

Nomination forms and information can be found and submitted online at Please contact AARP Kansas Director of Communications Mary Tritsch at, or 785-338-3987, for additional information and questions.

The application deadline is August 1, 2022.

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized 49 outstanding individuals and couples from around the country, including Susan Nyp of Lawrence who was the 2021 Andrus Award winner in Kansas.

About AARP Kansas
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.