AARP AARP States Michigan Health & Wellbeing

Here's how your legislators voted on Blue Cross reform bills

Michigan Capitol Bldg

AARP Michigan sent letters to legislators in advance of floor votes on the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan reform bills (Senate Bills 1293 and 1294) informing that it would publish the votes for review by our members.

AARP opposed the bills, passed by the House and Senate on Dec. 6, because they will take at least $876 a year out of the pockets of approximately 176,000 seniors who will pay higher Medigap premiums as of 2016.

AARP also questioned whether the bills would ensure affordability for 50-64-year-old residents who find themselves on the private insurance market.

Thanks to these lawmakers who voted "no" and with AARP on both bills:

House (49) -- Annanich, Barnett, Bauer, Bledsoe, Brown, Brunner, Byrum, Cavanagh, Clemente, Constan, Darany, Dillon, Durhal, Geiss, Greimel, Hammel, Haugh, Hobbs, Hovey-Wright, Howze, Irwin, Jackson, Johnson, Kandrevas, Lane, LeBlanc, Lindberg, Lipton, Liss, McCann, McMillin, Meadows, Moss, Nathan, Oakes, Olumba, Rutledge, Santana, Segal, Slavens, Smiley, Stallworth, Stanley, Stapleton, Switalski, Talabi, Tlaib, Townsend, Womack.

Senate (10) -- Anderson, Bieda, Gregory, Hood, Hopgood, Hunger, Johnson, Warren, Whitmer, Young.

These legislators voted "yes" and against AARP on both bills:

House (61) -- Agema, Bolger, Bumstead, Calton, Cotter, Crawford, Daley, Damrow, Denby, Farrington, Forlini, Foster, Franz, Genetski, Gilbert, Glardon, Goike, Graves, Haines, Haveman, Heise, Hooker, Horn, Hughes, Huuki, Jacobsen, Jenkins, Knollenberg, Kowall, Kurtz, LaFontaine, Lori, Lund, Lyons, MacGregor, MacMaster, McBroom, Muxlow, Nesbitt, O'Brien, Olson, Opsommer, Ouimet, Outman, Pettalia, Poleski, Potvin, Price, Pscholka, Rendon, Rogers,  R. Schmidt, W. Schmidt, Shaughnessy, Shirkey, Somerville, Stamas, Tyler, Walsh, Yonker, Zorn.

Senate (28) -- Booher, Brandenburg, Casperson, Caswell, Colbeck, Emmons, Gleason, Green, Hansen, Hildenbrand, Hune, Jansen, Jones, Kahn, Kowall, Marleau, Meekhof, Moolenaar, Nofs, Pappageorge, Pavlov, Proos, Richardville, Robertson, Rocca, Schuitmaker, Smith, Walker.

Welcome to AARP Michigan
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.