Content starts here
AARP AARP States Montana Volunteering

Know an extraordinary volunteer age 50 or older?


AARP Montana is seeking nominations for its 2019 Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors Montanans who volunteer their experience, talent and skills to enrich the lives of others. Although AARP membership is not a requirement, nominees must be 50 or older and their accomplishments or service must have been performed on a volunteer basis and reflect AARP's commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all as we age.

The 2019 Montana Andrus award recognizes inspiring individuals who are making a positive difference in the lives of others, improving their community and encouraging others to volunteer.

Montanans are known for their service to their communities. According to the latest statistics from the Corporation for National and Community Service, Montana ranks twelfth in the nation for volunteerism – nearly 32% of Montanans volunteer their time each year. With an average of 36.2 volunteer hours per capita, Montanans donated a total of 29.54 million hours of service, and the total estimated value of those millions of hours of service across Montana is $697 million per year.

Dr Ethel Percy Andrus

The Andrus Award is AARP’s highest honor, given to an individual who embodies the principles of AARP’s founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus. While her name does not carry the instant recognition that the organization she founded does, Dr. Andrus believed in the pple to do extraordinary things.

Nominations will be evaluated by AARP Montana based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in the fall.

“In addition to individuals, we are asking community partners to nominate strong volunteer candidates, age 50 plus, who are making a difference in their communities, “ said AARP Montana State Director, Tim Summers. “If your candidate is selected, AARP Montana will donate $1,000 to the nominating non-profit organization.”

The deadline for nominations for the Andrus Award has been extended to August 30, 2019. For criteria and nomination forms, go to

About AARP Montana
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.