AARP AARP States Montana Events

Join the conversation: tell us how you juggle life, work and family caregiving

RFD-TV Image 4-2014

Every day, more than 42 million family caregivers in America make it possible for a parent, spouse or other loved one to live independently. Many of those caregivers juggle responsibilities, including working and caring for their own family. In fact, 42% of U.S. workers have been caregivers for aging loved ones in the last five years. What’s more, research shows juggling responsibilities can be highly stressful, putting caregivers at risk for depression, anxiety and cardiovascular disease, among other physiological consequences, as well as cause financial problems.

How do you care for a loved one and still maintain balance in your life and work? We’ll explore this question on the next edition of AARP Live, airing Thursday, January 15 th at 10 p.m. ET. Our guests will include AARP Family Caregiving expert Amy Goyer, author of the book “Juggling Work and Caregiving” and AARP Tennessee State President Donna Dean, who will share her personal experience as a family caregiver. Read Donna Dean’s caregiving story HERE. Plus, AARP Oklahoma State Director Sean Voskuhl will share important information about how AARP is working to support caregivers, including helping pass laws that give caregivers better rights and supports, and highlight AARP’s new initiative to spotlight caregiver stories called “I Heart Caregivers.”

Join the conversation: tell us how you juggle life, work and family caregiving and maintain balance. Call in during the show,  Thursday, January 15th at 10 PM ET/9 PM CT/8PM MT/7 PM  Pacific.  Watch live on the web! We’ll take caller questions and comments live at 1-877-731-6733. Also, three lucky callers will have a chance to win an  AARP RealPad tablet we’re giving away during the show. ( January 2015 AARP Live SWEEPSTAKES RULES ).

 

About AARP Montana
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.