AARP AARP States Utah Uncategorized

Proposition 3 Repeal and Replace Vote Could Come Today in the Utah Senate

A MESSAGE FROM AARP UTAH AND THE UTAH HEALTH POLICY PROJECT ON YESTERDAY'S VOTE TO REPEAL AND REPLACE PROPOSITION 3

 

Yesterday the Senate's Health and Human Services committee voted to proceed with Senator Christensen's bill that would repeal Proposition 3's Medicaid expansion.

 

It could be debated and voted on the Senate floor as early as TODAY, Wednesday the 30th.

 

Please contact your senators RIGHT AWAY and express your opposition to SB 96 and any attempts to repeal Proposition 3. They are all listed below with the percentage of their district that voted YES.

Luz Escamilla (D, SD 1) - 64.5% yes

801-550-6434 | lescamilla@le.utah.gov

 

Derek Kitchen (D, SD 2) - 80.8% yes

801-674-6141 | dkitchen@le.utah.gov

 

Gene Davis (D, SD 3) - 72.2% yes

801-647-8924 | gdavis@le.utah.gov

 

Jani Iwamoto (D, SD 4) - 69.2% yes

801-580-8414 | jiwamoto@le.utah.gov

 

Karen Mayne (D, SD 5) - 61.8% yes

801-232-6648 | kmayne@le.utah.gov

 

Wayne Harper (R, SD 6) - 55.5% yes

801-566-5466 | wharper@le.utah.gov

 

Deidre Henderson (R, SD 7) - 42.4% yes

801-538-1035 | dhenderson@le.utah.gov

 

Kathleen Riebe (D, SD 8) - 64.5% yes

385-222-1742 | kriebe@le.utah.gov

 

Kirk Cullimore (R, SD 9) - 57.3% yes

801-571-6611| kcullimore@le.utah.gov

 

Lincoln Fillmore (R, SD 10) - 48.5% yes

385-831-8902 | lfillmore@le.utah.gov

 

Dan McCay (R, SD 11) - 46.2% yes

801-810-4110| dmccay@le.utah.gov

 

Daniel Thatcher (R, SD 12) - 54.6% yes

801-759-4746 | dthatcher@le.utah.gov

 

Jacob Anderegg (R, SD 13) - 39.8% yes

801-901-3580 | janderegg@le.utah.gov

 

Daniel Hemmert (R, SD 14) - 42.1% yes

801-380-8262 | dhemmert@le.utah.gov

 

Keith Grover (R, SD 15) - 49.2% yes

801-319-0170 | keithgrover@le.utah.gov

 

Curtis Bramble (R, SD 16) - 50.6% yes

801-361-5802| cbramble@le.utah.gov

 

Scott Sandall (R, SD 17) - 43.2% yes

435-279-7551| ssandall@le.utah.gov

 

Ann Millner (R, SD 18) - 54.3% yes

801-900-3897 | amillner@le.utah.gov

 

Allen Christensen (R, SD 19) - 54.1% yes

801-782-5600 | achristensen@le.utah.gov

 

David Buxton (R, SD 20) - 46.8% yes

801-707-7095 | gbuxton@le.utah.gov

 

Jerry Stevenson (R, SD 21) - 48.5% yes

801-678-3147 | jwstevenson@le.utah.gov

 

Stuart Adams (R, SD 22) - 50.6% yes

801-593-1776 | jsadams@le.utah.gov

 

Todd Weiler (R, SD 23) - 56.7% yes

801-599-9823 | tweiler@le.utah.gov

 

Ralph Okerlund (R, SD 24) - 43.8% yes

435-979-7077 | rokerlund@le.utah.gov

 

Lyle Hillyard (R, SD 25) - 51.5% yes

435-753-0043 | lhillyard@le.utah.gov

 

Ronald Winterton (R, SD 26) - 51.4%

435-722-2729 | rwinterton@le.utah.gov

 

David Hinkins, (R, SD 27) - 51% yes

435-384-5550 | dhinkins@le.utah.gov

 

Evan Vickers (R, SD 28) - 44.2% yes

435-817-5565 | evickers@le.utah.gov

 

Don Ipson (R, SD 29) - 45.7% yes

435-817-5281 | dipson@le.utah.gov

You can find out who your specific legislators are by entering your address on www.le.utah.gov

 

Here are some talking points that you might find useful in these conversations:

Utah Decided Arguments for Advocates

More than anything, we must be clear that any changes are unacceptable.

They can attempt to cushion the language and muddy the waters- but SB 96 -- even WITH the substitution yesterday is a repeal bill. We cannot roll the dice with a federal waiver. We should not agree to pay 3-times more while we have the 90% federal match rate available already under Prop 3. We must stand firm against anything except Proposition 3's full, immediate Medicaid expansion. The so-called "bridge" plan is not the solution. Voters already passed a superior law. There is no need to rush into a repeal bill. If legislators want to discuss long-term sustainability and cost then we can do that, without resorting to caps and waivers and undoing the will of the people.


 


 


 

 


 


 

About AARP Utah
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.