Content starts here
AARP AARP States Montana

How to Recognize Outstanding Volunteers -- Nominate them for the AARP Andrus Award!

Ethel Percy Andrus -2.jpg

AARP Montana seeks nominations for the 2023 Andrus Award, the State’s highest community service award for those age 50 and over.

AARP Montana is seeking nominations for its 2023 Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors Montanans who volunteer their experience, talent and skills to enrich the lives of others.

To nominate someone for the Andrus Community Service Award, go to The application deadline is September 15, 2023.

Past Winners of AARP Volunteer Appreciation Awards
Past Winners of AARP Volunteer Appreciation Awards

The Andrus Award, named after AARP founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, recognizes inspiring individuals who share their experience, talent, and skills to enrich their communities in ways that are consistent with AARP's mission, vision, and commitment to volunteer service.

Montanans are known for their service to their communities. According to the latest statistics from the Corporation for National and Community Service, Montana ranks twelfth in the nation for volunteerism – nearly 32% of Montanans volunteer their time each year. With an average of 36.2 volunteer hours per capita, Montanans donated a total of 29.54 million hours of service, and the total estimated value of those millions of hours of service across Montana is $697 million per year.

The Andrus Award is AARP’s highest honor, given to an individual who embodies the principles of AARP’s founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus. While her name does not carry the instant recognition that the organization she founded does, Dr. Andrus believed in the power of the people to do extraordinary things.

Nominations will be evaluated by AARP Montana based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in the fall.

“In addition to individuals, we are asking community partners to nominate strong volunteer candidates, age 50 plus, who are making a difference in their communities, “ said AARP Montana State Director, Tim Summers. "We will also make a $2,500 donation to the Award recipient’s charity of choice."

Although AARP membership is not a requirement, nominees must be 50 or older and their accomplishments or service must have been performed on a volunteer basis and reflect AARP's commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all as we age.

The deadline for nominations for the Andrus Award is September 8, 2023. For more information, including criteria, go to

View past award recipients:

About AARP Montana
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.