AARP AARP States Oregon Community

AARP Oregon celebrates Hispanic Heritage Month 2021

Reyna.jpg
Reyna Lopez Osuna, executive director of PCUN, will join us for a conversation on the impact of Hispanics on state policies at 10 a.m., Sept. 23

The deep history of Hispanic/Latinos in Oregon began when the current southern state line was actually the northern border of Mexico. From local and state government to the boardroom and from farm fields across the state to arts, music and education, the contributions of the Hispanic/Latino residents positively impact our nation.

From coast to coast, there's a wealth of diversity within the Hispanic community in the United States, all to be celebrated during Hispanic Heritage Month. Running from Sept. 15 to Oct. 15, the four weeks of national recognition aim to acknowledge the culture and contributions of a vibrant, multifaceted, multiethnic group of people, proud of their roots — whether from Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, South America or Spain.

This month gives us the opportunity to shine a light on the contributions and achievements that are interwoven into the history of American culture. Events are open to the public, and AARP membership is not required.

AARP Oregon will celebrate those contributions in September and October as we learn about how generations of Hispanic/Latino Oregonians as well as new immigrants continue to shape the state.

AARP Oregon is kicking off the month-long observance on September 14 with a virtual presentation by Carlos Romo, Ph.D. who will tell us about how Hispanic Heritage Month began, and how it has evolved over the years.

Keep an eye on this site for updates and new events. Current events planned in Oregon for the month include:

Hispanic Heritage Month: An Overview
The FREE virtual discussion will be held on Tuesday, Sept., 14 at 1pm ET | 12pm CT | 11am MT | 10am PT
Please register for this free event. A link to the webinar will be sent to you before the event.
Register: https://aarp.cvent.com/ORHispanicHistory2021


AARP Oregon Virtual Fall Concert Series

Join AARP Oregon and Whippoorwill Arts at 6:30 pm PT or 9:30 pm ET on Tuesday, September 21, 2021 for the first of our monthly virtual concert in the Fall Concert Series. Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month with Angie K and The Omen Brothers, a duo featuring Snap Jackson and Shane Kalbach. Registration is required. Register: https://aarp.cvent.com/Sept21Concert


Thursday Conversations with AARP:  Hispanic/Latino/Chicano Impact in Oregon

Activism and advocacy has shaped Oregon's policies for decades. AARP Oregon will be talking with Jose and Kathy Romero, local activists and Reyna Lopez Osuna, executive director for PCUN, the Oregon Farmworker's Union, on Thursday, Sept. 23, at 10 a.m. about the some of the challenges faced by the Hispanic/Latino community in Oregon. Watch live at 10 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 23 http://www.facebook.com/AARPOregon


Thursday, Wednesday, Oct. 14, 7 p.m. – Cantinflas – Movie Screening

From boxer to bullfighter to film star, Cantinflas, was Mexico’s most beloved comedian. The international star made millions laugh. This film highlights his journey. Join us for this evening of laughter and tears behind his real story. This is a free movie, but registration is required. Register: https://aarp.cvent.com/Cantinflas_OR1014

About AARP Oregon
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.