AARP AARP States Oregon Volunteering

Time to Nominate a Volunteer Superstar for the AARP Andrus Award

Volunteers make our communities great places to live work and play. Now you can you love your favorite volunteer back by  nominating that volunteer superstar for AARP’s most prestigious community service award.

What is it?

Named after AARP's founder, The Ethel Percy Andrus Award highlights outstanding local volunteers who donate their skills, time and love to their communities.

AARP Oregon will accept nominations until July 15, 2019, and the nominator will receive the opportunity to donate $500 to an eligible non-profit of his or her choosing with approval from AARP Oregon.

Jan Melcher of Estacada was the 2018 Andrus Award winner for her tireless work at the senior center and as a Meals on Wheels driver.


Who’s eligible?

AARP Oregon Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.
  • Married couples or domestic partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
  • The recipient must live in the awarding state.
  • This is not a posthumous award.

Nominations will be evaluated based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers.

For more information about the 2019 Andrus Award for Community Service, please visit:

About AARP Oregon
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.