Content starts here
AARP AARP States Uncategorized

Recognize an exception volunteer in Alaska

Do you know an extraordinary volunteer?

Each year, AARP honors the legacy of our founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus with the AARP Alaska Andrus Award for Community Service.  The annual Andrus Award for Community Service is AARP’s most prestigious volunteer award. It recognizes individuals who are sharing their experience, talent and skills to enrich their communities in ways that are consistent with AARP’s mission, vision, and commitment to volunteer service, and that inspire others to volunteer. Only one Alaska volunteer (or couple performing service together) can receive the Award.

AARP’s commitment to volunteer service can be traced back to our founder, Dr. Andrus, whose motto “to serve, not to be served” has shaped our community service efforts at the national, state, and local levels.

AARP enhances the quality of life for all as we age. We champion positive social change and deliver value through advocacy, information and service.

Nominees for the Award must meet the following eligibility requirements:

• Nominees must be 50 years or older.

• The accomplishments, achievements, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.

• The accomplishments, achievements, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.

• Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.

• The recipient must live in Alaska.

• This is not a posthumous award.

 The deadline is Sunday, June 1.

 Download a nomination form at http://infonet/sng/OVS/Documents/Andrus%20Awards/2014/Nomination%20Forms/AK%20Andrus%20Award%20Brochure%20Merged%20HiRes_Part1.pdf

For more information on the Andrus Award visit

About AARP States
AARP is active in all 50 states and Washington, DC, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Connect with AARP in your state.