In New Jersey, more than 1.1 million people care for their parents, spouses and other loved ones so they can live in their homes, where they prefer to be. Most family caregivers combine the responsibilities of their full-time or part-time jobs with the care of a loved one. However, more than one million workers in New Jersey do not have a single paid day of sick leave at work.
Thousands of state residents face financial difficulties or risk losing their jobs if they need to take time off to take care of themselves or a loved one.
This new law, signed on May 2 by the Governor of NJ, Phil Murphy, will ensure that caregivers who also work will not have to expose themselves to financial risks in order to care for a loved one. It requires employers to provide sick leave to their employees to take care of themselves, a family member or someone whose relationship with the employee is equivalent to the family link. Employees will accrue one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours of work, up to a maximum of 40 hours per year. This law will come into force in October of this year.
We invite you to visit the AARP resource center for caregivers to get information and resources to take care of your loved ones here or call 1-888-971-2013.