Content starts here
AARP AARP States Press

Nominate an Outstanding Volunteer for AARP MA's 2015 Andrus Award for Community Service!

2015 Andrus Awards_FB_2
DEADLINE EXTENDED! Annual Award Recognizes Those Who Make a Powerful Difference in their Community

AARP is now accepting nominations for its 2015 Massachusetts Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors a 50+ Massachusetts resident or couple who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.

Nominations will be evaluated by the selection committee convened by AARP Massachusetts based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced this fall and will receive a $1500 donation to the charity of his or her choice.

The application deadline is Tuesday, June 30, 2015 (NOTE: This is the new extended deadline!) .  Nominees for the 2015 AARP Massachusetts Andrus Award for Community Service must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.
  • Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
  • This is not a posthumous award.


"AARP Massachusetts is excited to shine a light on 50+ Massachusetts residents who are using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in the lives around them,” said Mike Festa, AARP Massachusetts state director.

 Click below for a nomination form and more information:


Andrus Award Nomination Eligibility Guidelines

Andrus Award Nomination Form

Find a Volunteer Opportunity with AARP Massachusetts



Questions? Please contact Lisa Masters at 617-305-0564 or, and remember that t he application deadline has been extended and is now Tuesday, June 30, 2015. Visit for additional details.

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society.  Last year, AARP recognized 52 outstanding individuals from around the country.

About AARP States
AARP is active in all 50 states and Washington, DC, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Connect with AARP in your state.