Content starts here


AARP AARP States Virginia Livable Communities

Commonwealth Council on Aging 2023 Best Practices Awards

Gold winners trophy, champion cup with falling confetti
ptasha/Getty Images/iStockphoto

The Commonwealth Council on Aging is sponsoring the 2023 Best Practices Award Program targeted to organizations serving older Virginians and their families. The awards will be given to innovative programs and services that assist older adults to age in the community. The Commonwealth aims to recognize creativity in services, such as livable communities, home and community based supports, transportation, housing, caregiver supports, intergenerational programming, and more. The Council believes the door is wide open for creative best practices.

Complete instructions, nomination forms, and information on previous Best Practices Award winners are posted on the DARS Aging Boards and Councils website under "News and Information” found here:

Nominations for the 2023 awards must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, March 1, 2023.

The Council is pleased to support the following awards to the top winners: 1st Place, 2nd Place, and 3rd Place. The Council will also recognize up to three honorable mention programs. Award winners will be notified in late March.

The Council thanks Dominion Energy and AARP Virginia for sponsoring this initiative.

About AARP Virginia
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.