AARP AARP States Minnesota About AARP


AARP is now accepting nominations for its 2014 Minnesota Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors Minnesotans over the age of 50 who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.  Individuals do not need to be AARP volunteers or members to be nominated.  AARP will make a $1,000 donation to an approved charity of the award winners choosing.

2013 Andrus
2013 Andrus Award Winner Sharlene Geraghty of Hastings
Boffeli, Seth

“AARP Minnesota is excited to shine a light on older Minnesotans who are using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in the lives around them,” said Will Phillips AARP Minnesota State Director.

AARP Minnesota Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.

Nominations will be evaluated by AARP Minnesota’s volunteer Executive Council, based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in late August.

To nominate an outstanding 50+ volunteer visit or call 1-866-554-5381.  The application deadline is June 1, 2014.

Contact AARP Minnesota
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.