Content starts here


AARP AARP States Volunteering

Take Time to Nominate an Extraordinary Iowa 50+ Volunteer for Recognition, Reward

Andrus winners.

With a July 1 nomination deadline approaching, AARP Iowa is encouraging Iowans to take a few minutes to nominate an outstanding 50+ Iowan for the 2014 AARP State Andrus Award for Community Service, making them eligible to  receive $1,000 to award to the charity of their choice.

"For the first time this year, AARP Iowa is offer a $1,000 cash award to the winner of our highest volunteer service award, and we'd love to see as many individuals and organizations as possible from across the state nominate a deserving volunteer for this prestigious recognition," said Connie Eastman, AARP Iowa associate state director for community outreach.

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service recognizes members and volunteers who, through volunteer service, are significantly enhancing the lives of individuals age 50 and over. Nominees for the AARP Iowa Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

-Nominee must be 50 years or older.
-The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.
-The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.
-Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.
-This is not a posthumous award.

Nominations will be reviewed by members of the AARP Iowa Executive Council, and will be evaluated based on how a nominee's work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in the fall.

Nomination forms can be found online at  Iowans may also contact Connie Eastman in the AARP Iowa office at 1-866-554-5378 toll-free or for further information and a nomination form. The AARP Iowa state application deadline is July 1, 2014.

The AARP State Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year’s Iowa winner was the husband-wife team of Jan and Phyllis Wilson of Fort Dodge. The Wilsons put together a group of 11 volunteers in 2002 to tackle a renovation project at Mitchell Park in their home town of Fort Dodge. That group – called Pride in Community Appearance (PICA) – has grown to include more than 60 volunteer gardeners and outdoor beautification specialists.

Read more about the Wilsons here.

About AARP States
AARP is active in all 50 states and Washington, DC, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Connect with AARP in your state.