AARP AARP States Texas Press

AARP Honors Seven Texas Legislators

Lawmakers recognized for their work on behalf of seniors

Austin, TX -- AARP Texas announced today that it will honor seven Texas lawmakers with a new award to commend their legislative achievements during the 2009 Texas legislative session on behalf of the 50-plus population.

“While narrowing it down to seven was a very difficult task, these members assumed important leadership roles in passing key legislation to protect older Texans for years to come,” said AARP Texas State Director Bob Jackson.

Legislators recognized by AARP are:

  • Senator Kip Averitt / Representative John Smithee for their leadership in improving the affordability of health insurance for older Texans (co-authored a bill creating a discount program for the high risk pool).
  •  Senator Leticia Van De Putte / Representative Elliot Naishtat for their leadership in ensuring Texas is prepared to meet the needs of a growing aging population (co-authored a bill that created the Texas Legislative Committee on Aging).
  •  Senator Rodney Ellis / Representative Craig Eiland for their leadership in protecting the financial assets of older Texans (co-authored several bills that strengthened consumer protections for older Texans purchasing annuities).
  •  Sen. Wendy Davis as “Freshman of the Year” for her efforts to improve the financial security of older Texans.

Awards will be presented to each legislator at individual ceremonies in their respective hometowns. AARP plans to present similar awards every two years, following the conclusion of the regular legislative session.

About AARP Texas
Contact information and more from your state office. Learn what we are doing to champion social change and help you live your best life.